Learning & Support
Westlaw UK Workouts and training sessions

workouts and training sessions

 

We offer free training on Westlaw UK in a variety of formats, tailored to suit you. Training from one of our team can be given in your office, over the phone or online via our live Workout Webinar sessions. If you would like to request a training session, please contact the team with your requirements.

 

Our Customer Training and Support Team can also offer assistance on specific tasks, giving you step-by-step guidance over the phone. If you need immediate assistance you can call them 24 hours a day, 7 days a week on +44 345 600 9355.

 

WESTLAW UK WORKOUTS

Workouts are our webinar training sessions. One of our trainers hosts the session and broadcasts from their computer it over the internet. You will be able to watch the session from your computer and can dial in from your telephone to listen and ask questions. Workouts cover everything from the basics to practice-area specific training.

Upcoming sessions are all listed below, so if you’d like to attend one you simply need to register using the links. You can register any time up to thirty minutes before your chosen session.

 

Workout topic

Note: select a topic to display the upcoming training sessions.

Public sector: Dual Westlaw UK and Lawtel SessionsWestlaw UK CrimeWestlaw UK Local Government*Westlaw UK EmploymentWestlaw UK FamilyThe White BookWestlaw UK LegislationWestlaw UK CasesWestlaw UKWestlaw UK Tools/Tips: (Alerts, Advanced Search techniques, etc)
Dates & times: Wednesday 4 April at 9:30 – 11:00

Monday 14 May at 14:00 – 15:30

Level: Basic and Intermediate
Who is able to attend: Public sector customers
Aim: This session covers both Westlaw UK and Lawtel databases on connectors, case analysis, consolidated legislation, journals and books. Lawtel EU, litigator, personal injury and human rights are also covered.
Duration: 1 hour and 30 minutes
Dates & times: Wednesday 25 April at 10:00 – 11:00

Monday 28 May at 11:00 – 12:00

Level: Basic and Intermediate
Who is able to attend: All
Aim: This session covers Westlaw UK Crime on connectors, case analysis, consolidated legislation, journals and books.
Duration: 1 hour
Dates & times: Monday 9 April at 9:30 – 10:30

Wednesday 9 May at 11:00 – 12:00

Level: Advanced
Who is able to attend: All
Aim: This session covers  Westlaw UK Local Government on connectors, case analysis, consolidated legislation, journals and books
Duration: 1 hour
Dates & times: Thursday 5 April at 10:30 – 11:30

Thursday 30 May at 9:00 – 10:00

Level: Advanced
Who is able to attend: All
Aim: This session covers employment law on connectors, case analysis, consolidated legislation, journals and IDS Handbooks
Duration: 1 hour
Dates & times: Monday 16 April at 14:00 – 15:00

Monday 21 May at 11:00 – 12:00

Level: Advanced
Who is able to attend: All
Aim: This session covers the following areas of Family: Child abduction, Custody, Family proceedings, Matrimonial property, Parental contact, Powers rights and duties.
Duration: 1 hour
Dates & times: Thursday 12 April at 11:00 – 12:00

Tuesday 22 May at 10:00 – 11:00

Level: Advanced
Who is able to attend: All
Aim: This session covers the latest version of the White book and search across the text and pinpoints relevant results.
Duration: 30 minutes
Dates & times: Tuesday 3 April at 12:30 – 13:00

Wednesday 18 April at 13:00 – 13:30

Tuesday 1 May at 12:30 – 13:00

Wednesday 23 May at 11:00 – 11:30

Level: Basic
Who is able to attend: All
Aim: This session covers basic search, browsing for legislation, full text, legislation analysis, overview document, arrangement of Act/SI, general materials and printing the entire Act in PDF.
Duration: 30 minutes
Dates & times: Wednesday 11 April at 10:30 – 11:00

Monday 23 April at 11:30 – 12:00

Tuesday 15 May at 11:00 – 11:30

Tuesday 31 May at 11:00 – 11:30

Level: Basic
Who is able to attend: All
Aim: This session covers basic search, browsing for cases, viewing full-text case reports, case analysis, viewing full-text PDF case reports and creating case alerts.
Duration: 30 minutes
Dates & times: Thursday 19 April at 9:30 – 10:30

Thursday 26 April at 10:00 – 11:00

Monday 30 April at 10:00 – 11:00

Wednesday 2 May at 11:00 – 12:00

Tuesday 8 May at 12:00 – 13:00

Level: Intermediate
Who is able to attend: All
Aim: This session covers all areas of Westlaw UK including searching using connectors, case analysis, consolidated legislation, journals and books.
Also how to save searches, create case and subject alerts.
Duration: 1 hour
Dates & times: Wednesday 4 April at 11:30 – 12:30

Wednesday 16 May at 9:30 – 10:30

Level: Advanced
Who is able to attend: All
Aim: This session is aimed at the seasoned expert user who would like to fine-tune their research to get information faster. Also covers how to save searches, create case alerts and use “My Folders”.
Duration: 1 hour